Rivanna Solid Waste Authority


4th Tuesday of Feb, Apr, May, June, Aug, Nov at 2:00 p.m.


RSWA – 695 Moore’s Creek Lane 


7 members:  City Manager, City Council Member; Albemarle County Board of Supervisors Member, Director of Charlottesville Department of Public Works, 2 members designated by Albemarle County, and the Chair jointly appointed  by the City and County.
NOTE: Members are required to file a completed Financial Disclosure Statement with the Clerk of their respective governing board prior to attending their first meeting, and annually during the Conflict of Interest filing period.


2 years (Joint City/County appointee)


Provide post-closure care and environmental corrective action programs for the closed Ivy Landfill as required by Commonwealth of Virginia laws and regulations; provide solid waste transfer facilities and provide processing and distribution-to-market facilities for recyclable wastes collected from waste collection services in the City and County; and provide convenience centers and special waste disposal, recycling, and reuse services to citizens of the City and County as authorized by the City or County.



Mike Gaffney, Joint City/County Appointee
Lauren Hildebrand, Director of Utilities
Standing Member
Brian Pinkston, City Councilor
Sam Sanders, City Manager
Standing Member
Stacey Smalls, Director of Public Works 
Standing Member