Albemarle-Charlottesville Regional Jail Authority


2nd Thursday of every other month at 12:30 p.m.


Albemarle-Charlottesville Regional Jail


11 members (3 sheriffs, 1 member of City Council, 1 member of the Board of Supervisors, City Manager, County Executive, 2 private citizens of City and County, 1 joint member, 1 Nelson County Administrator)


3 years (3 term limit)


To determine policy for the operation of Albemarle-Charlottesville Regional Jail and policies related to personnel, budget and correctional matters.

City Representatives

  • Chip Boyles, City Manager
  • James Brown, City Sheriff
  • Kristin Clarens, City Representative
  • John James Jr., Joint City/County Representative
  • Nikuyah Walker, City Council Representative (Mayor)